People and Things, a mother-daughter Blog

December 1, 2008

Libraries and MAMAMMMAMAAAMAMMAAAAs-Lesley

One more peak experiene in my life that happened when I worked in the public library.

 

There was a group of mentally challenged individuals who visited more than

most patrons. One morning at the information desk, I was asked to come over by one man

who said he wanted me to help him,

to help his friend,

email his mother,

When I arrived at the public computer, a man with cerebral palsy sat infront of the screen

holding

a piece of paper in his hand.

When his mother had phoned last she gave him her email…..nice eh?

 

 

One soul

making me cry

Even before

I walked up to him

 

Sitting there

Looking at the screen

An OPAC

Wanting his mama

 

His friend

Had come to me

At the desk,

to say,

 

“My friend

Wants to send

An e mail,

To his

 

MAMAMAMAMAMAMMMMMMMAAA

 

I understood his special needs

But it was

Beyond me

to help them both

Even when I tried 

 

In fact,

I feel,

I failed.

 

MAMAMAMAMAMAMMMMMMMAAA

 

Yeah me.

 

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

